July 16, 2024

The World Press Photo – 2024 Contest

Deadline: January 11, 2024

Who may enter
The World Press Photo contest is open to all professional photographers working in the field of photojournalism and/or documentary photography.

Short description

The contest is organized by the World Press Photo Foundation, an independent, non-profit organization based in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

The annual World Press Photo Contest recognizes and celebrates the bestphotojournalism and documentary photography produced over the last year.

There are four categories: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format.

Entries will be judged in six worldwide regions – Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania.

Pictures can be submitted whether or not they have been published.


Entry fee
The competition is free to enter.

24 regional winners will be awarded, one per category. Every regional winner will receive €1,000.

The four global winners – the World Press Photo of the Year, the World Press Photo Story of the Year, the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award, and the World Press Photo Open Format Award – will receive an additional €5,000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *